Italian Folk Dancin

20140624-194844.jpg

 

On Saturday, I spent five hours dancing traditional folk dances from the south of Italy at Villa Serena at a festival organized by the Scuola TarantArte Bologna. I was inspired to learn more Italian folk dances after dancing at the May 1st festival in my great-grandma’s hometown in Molise in May. The Scuola TarantArte Bologna also offers regular classes throughout the year, which I’d like to sign up for in the fall when their classes restart. We learned some of the Pizzica, Tammurriata Avvocata, Danze Sarde, and Tarantella calabrese. It was so much fun. As a former dancer, I’m embarrassed I didn’t think about learning Italian dances sooner (I guess I was distracted by all of the food and beautiful sites). Now I am smitten and can’t wait to seek out more opportunities to dance Italian folk dances.

