Goodies from the Salone del Gusto

While it wasn’t easy, I managed to contain myself at the Salone del Gusto and came home with a modest number of products. I was tempted to buy liters and liters of olive oil, as many preserved artichokes and olives as I could carry, and a souvenir each for all of my family members and friends. I was able to restrain myself because I know that shortly I’ll be moving back to the US and I’ll need to fit all of my belongings into a suitcase or two. Here’s what I couldn’t resist:

Extra virgin olive oil from the Tamaro Giorgio oil farm and Frantoio Foddi
Extra virgin olive oil, from Tamaro Giorgio (Molise) and Frantoio Foddi (Sardinia)

sapa marche
Sapa, a sweet cooked grape must (Marche)

Lonzino di fico, a fig cake made from dried figs mixed with almonds, pieces of walnuts, star anise seeds, and mistrà (aniseed liqueur), all wrapped in fig leaves (Marche)
Lonzino di fico, a fig cake made from dried figs mixed with almonds, pieces of walnuts, star anise seeds, and mistrà (aniseed liqueur), all wrapped in fig leaves (Marche)

Artichokes under oil from Orominerva (Molise)
Artichokes under oil from Orominerva (Molise)

anchovies calabria
Alici alla Mediterranea from Oroazzurro, anchovies under oil with parsley and salt (Calabria)

amarelli licorice
Amarelli licorice candy (Calabria)

nduja calabria
Luke picked out this Nduja, a spicy, spreadable pork sausage (Calabria)

olive oil soap greece
Olive oil soap from Calypso olive oil farm (Greece)

Maison della Nocciola Piemonte
Toasted hazelnuts from Maison della Nocciola Piemonte (Piemonte)

pistacchio bronte
Pistacchio di Bronte, a pistachio variety that grows only around Bronte in Sicily. These pistachios have a bright emerald-green color, an intense fragrance, and rich flavor. (Sicily)

